So, when was marijuana legalized in Alaska ? In 1998, when voters legalized the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative, or Measure 8, a bill that legalized medical cannabis use for qualifying individuals. However, these regulations were contradictory. While they legalized cannabis possession and use, there was no legal way for patients and caregivers to obtain the plant.
Yes, both medical and recreational cannabis are legal in Alaska. With the passage of Measure 2 in 2014, Alaska became the third state to legalize recreational cannabis. Medical cannabis use was legalized in 1998 after voters approved the Alaska Medical Marijuana Initiative, or Measure 8.
Also that year, the Alaska Supreme Court ruled in Ravin v. State that Alaskan adults had the right to use and possess a small amount of cannabis for personal use, according to Alaska’s constitutional rights to personal privacy. In 1982, the $100 fine was removed. In 1986, Alaska legislature decriminalized the possession of up to 4 ounces of marijuana , or 113.4 grams, in the home and up to 1 ounce, or 28.35 grams, outside of the home.
Anti-cannabis sentiment gained the upper hand in 2006, when the Alaska marijuana laws were passed by the Legislature that once again criminalized possession. This law was heavily pushed by Republican Gov. Frank Murkowski, who was publicly against cannabis use.
Under Measure 2, adults 21 and older are able to purchase and consume cannabis from state-licensed retailers and establishments with a valid onsite consumption endorsement. They are able to purchase up to 1 ounce of marijuana , or 28.35 grams, or 7 grams of cannabis concentrate, or total cannabis less than 5.6 grams, or 0.2 ounces, of THC. Adults looking to consume cannabis onsite are limited to purchase 1 gram, or 0.035 ounces, or less per transaction.
The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) regulates the Medical Marijuana Registry.
Measure 2’s passage changed the Alcohol Beverage Control Board into the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO), which established the Marijuana Control Board (MCB) in 2015 to regulate and govern recreational cannabis use.
Alaska’s Measure 2 , or The Alaska Marijuana Legalization Initiative, was approved by 53% of voters in 2014 and allowed for the regulation, production, sale, and use of recreational cannabis. The measure went into effect February 2015.
Republican Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer signed off on the state’s approved regulations for onsite consumption on March 12, 2019, and the laws went into effect April 11, 2019. The onsite consumption rules give each local government jurisdiction over its own county, and ability to decide its own onsite regulations.
View the marijuana laws & regulations for Alaska.
Possessing more than three grams or more of hashish or concentrate is considered misconduct involving a controlled substance in the fourth degree. Possessing hashish or concentrates on a school bus or within 500 feet of a school or youth center is also misconduct involving a controlled substance in the fourth degree. Misconduct involving a controlled substance in the fourth degree is a Class C felony. A Class C felony conviction is punishable by a fine of up to $50,000 and a sentence of 0 -2 years, but previous felony convictions will increase the sentence up to 5 years total.
Possession of 4 or more ounces of marijuana is a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $50,000.
- Alaska Stat. § 17.30.110
- Alaska Stat. § 17.30.112
- Alaska Stat. § 17.30.116
It is a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $50,000 to maintain a structure (including vehicles and houses) that the owner knows is used for selling, storing, or using marijuana.
- Alaska Stat. §11.71.160(f)
- Alaska Stat. §11.71.900
Delivering, manufacturing, or possessing hashish or THC concentrates with the intent to deliver is considered misconduct involving a controlled substance in the third degree, which is a Class B felony. A Class B felony conviction is punishable by a fine of up to $100,000 and a sentence of 1 – 3 years, but previous felony convictions will increase the sentence up to 10 years total.
It is a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000 to deliver with or without compensation less than 1 ounce of marijuana. Delivery with or without compensation of an ounce or more of marijuana is a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $50,000.
- Alaska Stat. § 28.15.176
- Alaska Stat. § 47.12.060(b)(4)
The court, after rendering judgment or within 60 days of doing so, may suspend imposition of a sentence or part of a sentence and place the offender on probation. For first time offenders, the court may suspend imposition of a sentence for up to 1 year or for the maximum duration of the sentence that may be imposed, whichever is greater, if it determines that it would be in the interest of justice.
NORML – Working to Reform Marijuana Laws Offense Penalty Incarceration Max. Fine Possession Personal Use 1 oz or less None None $ 0 1 – 4 oz in your