Possession of 50 – less than 100 kilograms is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 25 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500,000. Subsequent convictions shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for 3 – 40 years and a possible fine of not more than $500,000.
Possession of 100 kilograms or more is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000,000. Subsequent convictions shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for 4 – 40 years and a possible fine of not more than $1,000,000.
Possession of more than 1.4 grams inside one’s vehicle (except the trunk) is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 90 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
This state has an active hemp industry or has authorized research. Hemp is a distinct variety of the plant species cannabis sativa L. that contains minimal (less than 1%) amounts of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the primary psychoactive ingredient in marijuana. Various parts of the plant can be utilized in the making of textiles, paper, paints, clothing, plastics, cosmetics, foodstuffs, insulation, animal feed, and other products. For more information see NORML’s Industrial Use section.
The distribution of 42.5 grams or less without remuneration is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $200.*
The state allows conditional release or alternative or diversion sentencing for people facing their first prosecutions. Usually, conditional release lets a person opt for probation rather than trial. After successfully completing probation, the individual’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
The sale of more than 42.5 grams – less than 5 kilograms is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000. Subsequent convictions shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for 6 mos – 10 years and a possible fine of not more than $20,000.
Possession of 42.5 grams or less is a misdmeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $200.*
Possession of paraphernalia is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $300.
NORML – Working to Reform Marijuana Laws Offense Penalty Incarceration Max. Fine Possession 42.5 g or less* Misdemeanor N/A $ 200 More than 42.5 g – less
As of mid-2019, eleven of the fifty United States have repealed Prohibition of marijuana. And more than half the United States population now live in a state where medical marijuana is legal again.
- a public record with the word “marijuana” and
- petty misdemeanor “conviction.”
And the mixture law, subversive to due process, can be transformed into a weapon for the defense, in selected cases.
The “sale” quantity threshold is lower, for every “degree” of “Controlled Substance Crime.”
“Marijuana in a motor vehicle“ is analogous to the “open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle” (open bottle law). But that statute covers a “small amount of marijuana” (42.5 grams to 1.4 grams; not resinous form) in a motor vehicle.
Minnesota marijuana lawyers like Thomas Gallagher look to the chain of events, for a violation of law by police.
What is “a plant?” Sometimes the government overreaches by claiming that clones are “plants.” Any backyard gardener knows better. But the government often tortures the meaning of words like “plant.”
As a result, most people so charged desire to avoid
Those are the basic criteria for felony marijuana crimes in Minnesota. Minnesota marijuana lawyers like Gallagher see many marijuana felony charges, and even more non-felony cases.
Minnesota marijuana lawyers can help avoid penalties under current marijuana laws. Marijuana defense lawyer Thomas Gallagher makes it easy to understand.