Occupational Licensing Information – Marijuana Enforcement

Occupational Licensing Information – Marijuana Enforcement

Occupational Licensing Information – Marijuana Enforcement

State statute (C.R.S § 12-43.3-307; C.R.S. § 12-43.4-306) and Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) Rules 1 CCR 212-1 M 233 & 1 CCR 212-2 R 233 mandate that anyone working within Colorado’s marijuana industries (Medical or Retail) shall be licensed by the MED in order to ensure that they meet mandated statutory requirements.
The Medical Marijuana Occupational License statutory requirements include:
  • Applicants must be 21 years of age or older;
  • Applicants may not have any Controlled Substance Felony Convictions;
  • Applicants may not have any other felony convictions that have not been fully discharged five (5) years prior to applying;
  • Applicants may not have any delinquent government or child support debt;
  • Applicants may not be a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, prosecuting officer or an employee of the state or local licensing authority; AND
  • Applicants must be a Colorado resident at the time of application
Medical Marijuana Occupational Licenses are good for two years from the date the license is issued and can be used to work within both the Medical and Retail Marijuana Industries.  There are two classes of licenses available: a Support (Application fee is $150) and Key (application fee is $300). For more information about the Medical Marijuana Occupational License or to apply please click here.
The Retail Marijuana Occupational License statutory requirements include:
  • Applicants must be 21 years of age or older;
  • Applicants may not have any Controlled Substance Felony Conviction in the ten years immediately preceding his or her application date or five years from May 28, 2013, whichever is longer;
  • Applicants may not have any other felony convictions that have not been fully discharged for five years immediately preceding his or her application date;
  • Applicants may not be a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, prosecuting officer or be an employee of a local or State Licensing Authority; and
  • Applicants must be a Colorado resident at time of application

Retail Marijuana Occupational Licenses allow the holder to work within MED licensed Retail Marijuana facilities or for employees of vendors that provide services to MED Retail Marijuana business licensees.  This license is good for one year from date on which the license is issued.  The Retail Occupational License may only be used for employment within the Retail Marijuana industry – it CANNOT be used for employment within the Medical Marijuana Industry. The cost of this badge is $150.  For more information about the Retail Marijuana Occupational License or to apply please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *